Mini Review: Nika by D.H Gibbs

I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.  

Taken off the streets Nika is thrown into an unknown world where she’s held captive. As an orphan, she has been on the run and must find her way out before they discover her secret. But these people held the knowledge of her family and who she is. Will she be able to find out before her secret is revealed? 

After hundreds of years, Demyan has finally found the rightful ruler of his race. Unfortunately, she doesn’t know who she is and is doing everything in her power to escape him. Time is running out and Demyan has to convince Nika to take her rightful place otherwise the battle will be lost and his race extinguished.

A novella is an odd to start a series yet it works well, it’s too short for me to really be attached to the characters but I’m interested in knowing more about them. I didn’t like the romance but I haven’t liked the romance in almost anything lately so it’s not that there’s necessarily anything wrong with it, it just takes a lot to impress me although the romance did happen rather quickly.

I enjoyed reading this, the information was never overwhelming, the story has potential it’s to short for me to really be able to know for sure if I’ll like the rest of the series I’m hoping I will and I will probably at least read the next book to see if it gets better.

Rating 3 stars
Add it on goodreads
Leave a Reply

