Female Representation

All my life I’ve had to look for female characters my brothers have never and will never have to search for characters who look like them there are so many shows and movies that are dominated by white male characters.

I love Star Wars and superheroes when I was a little girl there weren’t any shows about female superheroes (sadly there still isn’t a female superhero movie) now there’s Suppergirl a great show that I wish had existed when I was little and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D has multiple strong woman kicking ass and there was Agent Carter which was amazing and I don’t think I’ll ever not be mad about it being cancelled.

When The Force Awakes came out and the main character was a female who was a pilot and a jedi who got to save herself it made me so emotional because to have a strong well written female heroine in a popular scifi franchise is so important. It makes me so happy to think about all the little girls who will dress up as Rey for Halloween who will get to grow up with this amazing inspiring female character.

Even though there’s been a lot of recent scyfi and fantasy movies that feature strong female characters there is still not enough and I think the problem is they don’t think they’ll succeed the villain of Iron man three was changed to a man because a girl villain wouldn’t sell toys and #wheresrey started trending when people realized that the main character wasn’t in any of the playsets she wasn’t even in the monopoly game they said that little boys didn’t want to play with a girl action figure there are two major things wrong with this statement. Number one why are you only making action figures for boys? Girls play with them too the second reason is that boy’s do want to play with a girl action figure it’s important for little boys to see females being represented it’s important for both girls and boys to see that women can do anything they want to do.

The reaction to female led movies is disgusting people are saying the all female Ghost Busters movie will be bad simply because it’s female led their saying feminists are pushing their agenda on them. A female led movie shouldn’t be seen as a statement it should be seen as a regular occurrence and the fact that it’s not just proves how much we need feminism.

The only thing I’ve found that’s female dominated is YA books it’s part of why I fell in love with reading it’s never been hard to find a female protagonist in YA they weren’t always well written but I didn’t have to look for them isn’t it sad that I was so desperate for representation that I didn’t even care if it was good. Now I’ve started looking for things that are good and diverse I started getting tired of reading about the same character over and over again. I’m tired of the girls who aren’t like other girls you shouldn’t have to create a mean girl character just to make your special snowflake look better. The media needs to stop pitting women against each other there is so little things with female friendships every teen book and movie has the mean girl who is mean for no reason I want to know why she’s mean give her more of a personality then just being mean give her a backstory.

Now I’ve begun to realize how messed up the portrel of women in the media is woman are often in movies just for eye candy their there to look pretty not to actually do something the film industry is so misogynistic. There are so few well written female characters I have to look hard to find them I shouldn’t have to do this I support every female led thing that comes out even if it’s not that good because I want to show people that things about women can be successful that people want so desperately to see things about women.

woman make up 50% of the population yet In 2015, females comprised 22% of protagonists, 34% of major characters, and only 33% of all speaking characters in the top 100 domestic grossing films and that was an historical high. The percentages of female characters of color were much worse, with Black female characters at 13% in 2015, Latina characters 4% in 2015 and Asian female characters went down (from 4% in 2014 to 3% in 2015) Female characters of color were less likely than White females to be major characters. 27% of Black, Latina, Asian, and females of other races/ethnicities were major characters, whereas 38% of White females were major characters. in 2014, only 28.1% of character in 100 films were female. Only 21 of those films featured a female lead or co-lead a of movies feature a female main character we are ridiculously underrepresented.

5 thoughts on “Female Representation

  1. AMAZING post! Love it! I didn’t even know about #wheresrey that sucks that they left Rey out of the set. When I was a little girl, I walked around with a tiny purse where I kept all of my Ninja Turtle figurines & April. Did you hear that we’re getting a female “Iron Man” from Marvel?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post, I really enjoyed reading it ๐Ÿ˜€
    Do you know more details about the Agent Carter thing? I loved the tv show but then I heard that they weren’t planning on filming a third season and I didn’t understood why …

    Like

  3. (Just saw now that my phone autocorrected for understood when it was supposed to be understand, this stupid little thing ๐Ÿ˜‚) yeah, hopefully, I really liked watching it! Thanks btw โ˜บ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

