Book Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

This is one of those reviews that’s hard to write because even though  I have a lot of thoughts I also have a lot of conflicting feelings so it’s hard to organize my thoughts because I’m not entirely sure how I feel about this overall. The characters, the setting, the writing and the magic system are all fantastic but I have so many issues with the story.

This started out really well I was very intrigued by Koura’s strange adopted family and the writing was lovely and similar to Maggie Stiefvater’s. The first few chapters felt like they were setting up an epic story but then you meet Akiva and I start to loose interest first of all they fell in love way to fast and the story becomes predictable, when the mystery was unveiled the answers didn’t surprise me although they were still satisfying I just don’t like to be able to predict everything that happens.

The whole book was mostly build up which I expect in the first book of a series what little that happened, happened all at once it was very inconsistently paced and that’s my biggest issue. I had hard so many amazing things about this I wanted to love it but I just couldn’t. I did still really enjoy it despite all the things that annoyed me and I will be continuing with this series in the hopes that the second book will be better.

Rating 3.5 Stars
Add it on goodreads
Buy it at the book depository  
3 thoughts on “Book Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone

  1. The second and third are really good. Things go beyond the human “realm” and Karou is thrown into a completely different setting and is struggling to fit in. There were quite a few surprises too! Although TBH I really was not happy with the ending. But more on that once you’ve read it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

