Book review: The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh 

img_4455In a land ruled by a murderous boy-king, each dawn brings heartache to a new family. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, is a monster. Each night he takes a new bride only to have a silk cord wrapped around her throat come morning. When sixteen-year-old Shahrzad’s dearest friend falls victim to Khalid, Shahrzad vows vengeance and volunteers to be his next bride. Shahrzad is determined not only to stay alive, but to end the caliph’s reign of terror once and for all.

Night after night, Shahrzad beguiles Khalid, weaving stories that enchant, ensuring her survival, though she knows each dawn could be her last. But something she never expected begins to happen: Khalid is nothing like what she’d imagined him to be. This monster is a boy with a tormented heart. Incredibly, Shahrzad finds herself falling in love. It’s an unforgivable betrayal. Still, Shahrzad has come to understand all is not as it seems in this palace of marble and stone. She resolves to uncover whatever secrets lurk and, despite her love, be ready to take Khalid’s life as retribution for the many lives he’s stolen.

Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights, The Wrath and the Dawn is a sumptuous and enthralling read from beginning to end.

All books are special this one more so than most. This is one of the best written books I have ever read everything is described in vivid detail I could picture every scene in my head I was completely absorbed in the story, Renee Ahdieh is now one of my absolute favorite authors. I had to keep myself from finishing this to quickly I didn’t want it to be over and I don’t know when I’ll be able to read the Rose and the Dagger and I could tell I would want it as soon as this one was over.

img_4474-2One of the best things about this fantastic book is the characters Renee did a great job of introducing lots of characters and making each of them standout even the ones who were only in a few pages. As for the main characters, Shahrzad is fierce and I loved her from the beginning even if she is a bit of a brat all the best characters are flawed, my feelings for Khalid mirrored Shahrazad’s I distrusted him then I gradually came to love him

I normally have at least one complaint about the romance but I’m very happy to say that I don’t have any with this one. I never once thought the romance was happening to quickly, I didn’t even mind the love triangle because it was well done. Shahrzad didn’t spend the whole book deciding which guy she liked more. I loved most everything about this but I felt like something was missing and there are a few things I wanted more of, more magic would have been wonderful I also would have liked more fight scenes. I’m hoping the next book will give me the things a felt this was lacking.

My rating 4.5 stars
Add it on goodreads.

Save

2 thoughts on “Book review: The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh 

Leave a Reply

