Mini reviews squad goals edition

Instead of doing full reviews for the last three books I read I’m doing mini reviews this is to keep me from falling behind on posting my reviews. All of these books are in deferent genres but they do have one thing in common, they all have multiple povs and there all about a group of friends or a squad that’s also one of my favorite kinds of books.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Rating 4.5/5
“A gambler, a convict, a wayward son, a lost Grisha, a Suli girl who had become a killer, a boy from the Barrel who had become something worse.”

 This book surprisingly lived up to the hype I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it but it’s very good, I likes it much better than The Grisha Trilogy. The characters are definitely the best part of the book there wasn’t a single character who’s chapters I wanted to skip, having five points of view is somethings that I think often doesn’t work well but somehow Leigh pulled it off wonderfully. There was more backstory than I was expecting but it wasn’t boring and it was woven throughout the story perfectly. I really should have waited to read this until the library gets the second book which comes out on the 27th because the end of this was intense and now I’m worried about the characters and I really need to know what happens next.
Add it on goodreads

Winter by Marissa Meyer

Rating 3.5/5 stars

“She would be brave. She would be heroic. She would make her own destiny.”

This book is massive it’s 832 pages it’s one of the longest books I’ve ever read and I was surprised by how fast I read it and by how fast paced it was, it does have some slow moments in it though and I think it should have been shorter. I definitely don’t think this series is perfect but it is a lots of fun there’s a ton of funny moments and there’s so many adorable couples as well as amazing friendships. I loved Winter she’ very sunique and I wish she had been in this more I know the series is about Cinder but the book is called Winter and I wanted more of her and Jacin.

Add it on goodreads

The Raven King

Rating 3.5 stars

“What a strange constellation they all were.”

I’ve been looking forward to this book for a long time and I was expecting something more. It was good but there was some story lines that could have been handled better, for instance I’m disappointed by how little Noah was in this. I liked Henri Chang who took Noah’s place as the fourth member of the raven gang, but it did feel like he was just thrown in it would have been better if he’d had a more memorable role in Blue Lily, Lily Blue. Also the ending was not at all what I was expecting this isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it’s just it was kinda anticlimactic but I’ve never been that impressed by the plot of The Raven Cycle. The characters are the reason I love this series and I’m happy with how they ended up even if there was a little too many loose ends. Basically I’m mostly happy with this book but I was expecting it to be better.

Add it on goodreads

2 thoughts on “Mini reviews squad goals edition

Leave a Reply

