Books that took me forever to read

Top five Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Gingerreadslainy and hosted by Thoughts on Tomes you can find more information on the goodreads group. This weeks prompt is books that took the longest to read.

On average it takes me about three days to finish a 300-400 page book but sometimes books are boring or slow and they take awhile to read most of the time if I’m having trouble getting into a book I normally end up not finishing it.  Sometimes really good books take be forever to read sometimes it’s the writing other times I’m just not in the mood for that story.

Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix

  • Read from April 10th to August

This is the longest book I’ve ever read and it took me the longest to read I thought I would never finish it. It’s massive I actually love really long books but this was too long and I found a lot of it boring and unnecessary it was my least favorite book in the series.

An Ember in the Ashes

  • Read from July 20th to July 29th

This took me awhile because I liked one point of view better then the other I would be loving the book and then it would switch to Laia’s pov and I would loose interest Laia was okay but I found Elias’s chapters I lot more interesting.

The Assassins Blade

  • Read from January 15th to February 1st

This is a collection of novellas and a spaced them out because I wasn’t ready to say goodby to the world and characters also some of the novellas are a little long and took me two days to finish.

Shadows

  • Read from June 20th to June 29th

This felt a lot longer then it actually was it was so hard to get into it was a good story but it was confusing and I was reading it for what felt like forever. For me nine days is a long time to read a 356 page book.

A Tyranny of Petticoats

  • Read from August 30th to September 18th

This is fifteen short stories and I wanted to read one or two story’s a day but I couldn’t finish it before I had to give it back to the library I only had one story left. I actually could have read the last story but it’s set in the 60s and I don’t  have much interest in that decade so I watched a show instead I do plan on buying this because I loved the stories so I’ll read that story eventually.

Whats on your list this weak?  Did any of these books take you forever to read?
9 thoughts on “Books that took me forever to read

  1. Very nice list! I think for me it would be Winter from the Lunar Chronicles since it is a monster of a book and also because it is the finale the series. Other ones would probably be These Broken Stars and Six of Crows. I think it took me longer to read since I actually loved the world and characters so I took my time going through it and also because I didn’t want it to end lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been seeing The Order of the Phoenix on a lot of lists today! I don’t remember how long it took me since I was in the 5th grade when I read it soooo…probably a while haha.
    I’ve also seen quite a few books from the Throne of Glass series on lists as well, the first book is on my own. Not too sure about continuing the series since a lot of the other books seem to take people a while to get through and I had trouble with the first one…
    I have An Ember in the Ashes on my shelf waiting for me to get a chance to read it, I see a lot of mixed feelings on that one. I always find when I’m reading multiple POV books that I prefer certain characters over others as well!
    Great list! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I flew through the Throne of Glass books it took me a while to read the Queen of Shadows but that was just because of how long it is. It’s one of my favorite series so I of course think you should give the second book a chance it’s better then the first well at least I think so.

      I have mixed feelings about An Ember in the Ashes the story and writing are good but not being a big fan of one of the two povs was very annoying.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

