Book review Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

The synopsis contains mild spoilers for Six of Crows, the rest of my review is spoiler free.

synopsis

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

Add it on Goodreads

My rating 5/5 stars 

my-thoughts

Because I only did a mini review of Six of Crows I’m going to keep this spoiler free for both books and some of this will be my overall feelings about the duology this also might be a little more rambly then my other revives.

This is definitely my favorite duology ever, Crooked Kingdom was even better then Six of Crows it was also a little different, Six of Crows was about one giant complicated heist, Crooked Kingdom is about multiple cons. And while this means it wasn’t as surprising I did enjoy each of the cons and there was something at the end of the book that I didn’t anticipate. The main reason why I liked this better then the first one is because it was more emotional books that make me cry tend to be my favorites. I already loved the characters and knew their backstory, and I loved seeing them grow and getting to know Wylan who didn’t have a pov in Six of Crows.

Leigh Bardugo is an evil genius this destroyed me and I mean that in the best possible way, I was completely absorbed in the story. The world faded away for a little while and for a few hours I was in Katterdam deceiving people and eating waffles. There was so many things going on in this fantastic book the plot was very well thought out, there’s action a lot wonderful witty banter and just the right amount of romance. All the characters are amazing especially Inej, and I’m satisfied with how all six of their stories were wrapped up and the ending was perfect.

“What about the nobodies and the nothings, the invisible girls? We learn to hold our heads as if we wear crowns. We learn to wring magic from the ordinary. That was how you survived when you weren’t chosen, when there was no royal blood in your veins. When the world owed you nothing, you demanded something of it anyway.”

4 thoughts on “Book review Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

