Book review: The Diabolic 

synopsis

Nemesis is a Diabolic. Created to protect a galactic Senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The girl who has grown up by her side and who is as much as sister as a master. There’s no one Nemesis wouldn’t kill to keep her safe. But when the power-mad Emperor summons Sidonia to the galactic court as a hostage, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia.

She must become her.

Now one of the galaxy’s most dangerous weapons is masquerading in a world of corruption and Nemesis has to hide her true abilities or risk everything. As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns that there is something stronger than her deadly force: the one thing she’s been told she doesn’t have – humanity.

Add it on goodreads

Rating 2/5

my-thoughts

I’ve seen so many positive reviews and even though aspects of this were good it fell flat for me and as I kept reading I liked it less and less. The beginning was good but I just didn’t love the writing so, it took me a whole week to read. I thought about not finishing it but by then I was already half way through and wanted to know how Nemesis’s story would end. Nemesis was just what I was expecting she was ruthless and had a lot of development, she gradually learned that she deserved and was capable of caring. The other characters were not that great except Sidonia who I liked but whose arc wasn’t well done there’s a few things I would have changed about it.

I have conflicting feelings about the romance it worked but it  wasn’t anything special the book would also have worked without it it also pushed some characters to the side who I wanted more of. The ending was a mess everything went to hell and got fixed in like five chapters maybe less, the pacing was suddenly super fast. There was a big plot twist that I didn’t like for one thing it could have been done better but even then I’m not sure I would have liked it.

The political intrigue the reviews promised wasn’t all that intriguing it focused on only one family and the things I liked never had much development. The world remind me of the capital except in space it was neat but it did feel like  I’ve read it before it had similarities to other books as well. I didn’t completely understand why science was banned yet they had all these cool scientific advancements. The zero gravity dancing scene was neat it would look awesome in a movie, I like watching scifi more than reading it because of the visuals. I really wanted to love this but there’s more things I disliked then liked there was so much potential but in the end it’s just not for me and I’m disappointed.

Save

2 thoughts on “Book review: The Diabolic 

Leave a Reply

