2016 reading recap

I have seen a lot of people posting the 2016 bookish survey created by Jamie @Thepepetaulpageturner I started to do it but realized I kept mentioning the same book every other question. So instead I’m making up my own thing. I did take some inspiration from Jamie’s survey I liked all the questions but I just didn’t read enough books in 2016 to answer them. Without farther ado let’s take a look at my reading stats.img_8752

I didn’t do to badly I was hoping to read 30 books but oh well. The important thing is the quality of the books I read. Overall my year book wise was pretty good it wasn’t the best year, there was a few disappointing reads and a few that were fun but not amazing and slightly forgettable. Three books are now my favorite books of all time so that makes up for the just okay reads.

the-great-books

Top Three Favorites

  • Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom: I just really love these two and the characters, I haven’t been able to stop thinking of them since finishing it. Full review
  • Persuasion: I didn’t know I could love a Jane Austen novel as much as Pride and Prejudice but was pleased to discover that I could. There both so romantic and well written novels I can’t choose between them.

Best series ender

  • The Winner’s Kiss: There was one to many loose ends but other then that I loved it. Full review

Most epic

  • Empire of Storms: It wasn’t as good as most of the books in the series but was still awesome and I discovered a new favorite character, Elide who is just amazing.

Best written

  • The Wrath and the Dawn: The writing was so beautiful and everything was described in so detail, the food the clothes it made the world so vivid. Full review

the-not-so-great-books

Most disappointing

  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone: The pacing was wired and the insta love was annoying I wish I could love this like most everyone else bu I just don’t . Full review
  • The Diabolic: There was so much potential but it ended up being a mess there was so much that wasn’t handled well.Full review

Worst series ender

  • The Raven King:  I said in my mini review that it was anti climactic but otherwise enjoyable but now  that time has passed I’ve come to realize that there is actually a lot of things I don’t like about it. Full Review

It wasn’t a awful year but it also wasn’t that great I’m really hoping 2017 will be a better year for reading and well just better all around.

How many books did you read this year? What is your favorite book you read? 

4 thoughts on “2016 reading recap

Leave a Reply

