Book review: The Sun is Also a Star

copy-of-synopsispngNatasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Add it on goodreads

3.8/5 Satrs

copy-of-my-thoughts

“We are capable of big lives. A big history. Why settle? Why choose the practical thing, the mundane thing? We are born to dream and make the things we dream about.”

When it comes to romance I’m hard to please and insta love is my least favorite trope yet I decided to read a romance book that takes place in only a day. A book I’d been told multiple times had insta love in it and I made the right choice. I enjoyed Everything, Everything and wanted to read more things by Nicola Yoon, her writing is spectacular and certainly the best part of both her books. Somehow maybe because I knew it was coming or maybe because of how well written it was I actually didn’t get that annoyed by the insta love. I still don’t believe in love at first sight but while I wouldn’t label it as realistic it was a beautiful story. It was actually completely unnecessary for them to fall in love with each other, there still could have been romance and the story still could have worked fine without it.

Natasha is a great character I love important science was to her, there is a lot of science in this and even though I’ve never been super interested in science I found it really neat. I didn’t like Daniel nearly as much as Natasha he was kinda annoying and him trying to make Natasha fall in love with him and following her around was borderline stalker. There was a few sweet romantic moments, however even though this is a romance it had quite a lot of other things going as well it covered a verity of topics such as s immigration, suicide, religion and finding your place in the world. This is about fate, it’s main theme is that everything happens for a reason.

“There’s a pure kind of joy in the certainty of belief. The certainty that your life has purpose and meaning. That, though your earthly life may be hard, there’s a better place in your future, and God has a plan to get you there.”

There’s these chapters called histories it was everything from the history of hair products to science to the side characters. I loved getting to know about the seemingly unimportant characters every character mattered there was a lot of thought put into plotting this. The was Nicola Yoon intertwined all the characters lives was beautiful, one storyline that I really enjoyed was kind about how you never know what’s happening in someone’s life and that one small thing can make all the difference to someone. All in all this was lovely and despite there being a few things I didn’t like I completely understand why this got so much hype and will now read everything that Nicola Yoon publishes.

Save

Save

One thought on “Book review: The Sun is Also a Star

Leave a Reply

