Bookstagram struggles

I haven’t had any motivation to blog and this is the first post I’ve written in a week however I have had a lot of motivation to post on instagram. I finally became serous about it and that’s what inspired today’s post which is about the struggles of bookstagram. I created my account in August and I still only have 71 followers but I wasn’t posting frequently now that I am I’m gaining followers. It’s still slow though, I know that followers aren’t all that matters but it’s still annoying for my account to grow so very slowly.

Even though I absolutely love taking bookish photos looking at and commenting on other people’s photos, there’s a lot of annoying things about instagram. These are what initially kept me from enjoying bookstagram and still continue to annoy me. Although the good does definitely out way the bad I would have deleted my account if it didn’t. 

The struggles of bookstagam

  • Instagrams incredibly stupid algorithm: This is probably the most frustrating thing and I know that a lot of other people rightfully complain about it too. If you don’t know instagram changed its algorithm so that now instead of seeing the most recent posts it shows you what they think you’ll like best. This makes me miss so many posts and makes it harder for people to see mine, I really wish they would change it back. 
  • The elusive theme: A theme is something that ties all of your photos together at first I didn’t want to restrict myself to a theme and then I tried a rustic theme that was limiting. Now after months I’ve finally found a theme I like and have realized that having a theme does matter. If you have one you will gain more followers and your feed will look more aesthetically pleasing. It just took awhile to find a theme that was pretty but wouldn’t limited the kinds of photos I could take. 
  • Annoying people: Some accounts only care about followers I obviously care about that too but I mainly want to have fun. Everyday at least two people follow me only to almost immediately unfollow, and at least once a week someone likes all of my photos but doesn’t follow. I appreciate the likes but if you like that many of my photos then just follow me. I don’t even get that excited when someone follows me anymore because I just think how long will this last.
  • I don’t own many books: I own a decent collection but I don’t  own enough to post everyday without running out of books to take photos of. I decided I’m going to post five times a week and even with doing that I’m worried about running out of ideas. I’m going to try to take photos of e-books there mostly what I read, there just harder to take photos of and not as pretty. 

lets-chat3Are there any bookstagram related struggles that frustrated you that I didn’t mention? Tell me in the comments and share a ink to your bookstagram so I can check out your account. Click here if you wold like to go to my account and if you have any tips for how I can improve my photos then please share.

3 thoughts on “Bookstagram struggles

  1. I agree with you on these! My main problem is that I also don’t have many books to take pictures of. I get most of my books from the library and the plastic covers kinda get in the way. But I’ve recently got a theme sorted out and I’m not too focused on followers so it’s still fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

