Spoiler review of Harry Potter and the The Cursed Child

Warning: This review contains major spoilers. 

copy-of-synopsispng

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.


While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

2.5 stars

copy-of-my-thoughts

This book is a mess. It’s hard to believe it’s actually canon It seems like a ridiculous yet enjoyable fan fic. I’m not sure where to begin I guess I’ll start with the fact that I I didn’t like the villain, Voldemort having a daughter I wanted a awesome and completely new villain not this weirdness. Okay it is probably much better as a play but I still would rather have gotten a whole new adventure, I didn’t want more Voldemort. And there’s so many out of character moments and just things that felt odd I don’t see how that would be any different in the play.

What is with Harry? He is a major jerk face after the first time change well he’s a bit mean before that too. I have a hard time believing that he would be so cruel as to separate his son from his best friend and what was with him being so mean to McGonagall? Harry wouldn’t do that. He was so out of character. Another thing that really bugged me was that Harry didn’t seem to care at all that his son couldn’t remember important things, great parenting there Harry. You think someone would have been concerned about Albus, it’s hard to believe that he was stuck in that universe for days and no one thought he was acting strange. Ron also seemed ooc a lot of his lines that were supposed to be funny seemed stupid to me but I seem to be in the minority about this.

None of the time changes seemed well thought out Hermione wouldn’t be mean just cause her and Ron weren’t married, that was just odd. As was many things in this like the blanket I get the sentiment behind it but I can think of a ton of other things that would have made a better gift. And why would Cedric become a death eater just because he was humiliated one time it doesn’t make any sense.

As you can tell I have a lot of feelings about this screenplay mostly negative ones. It wasn’t all bad though I wouldn’t have read it if it was I thought the idea was sound. And there’s Scorpius who  is the precious stereotype defying Slythern we’ve all been wanting. The Malfoy’s are the highlight of the story I was glad to see so much Draco, he just wanted to be happy and it was sad that his wife died. He was really trying to be a good father and protect Scorpias from that oddly specific rumor. There’s just to many things that annoyed me, and I knew there would be but I was curious and had to know exactly what everyone was talking about.

One thought on “Spoiler review of Harry Potter and the The Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

