Spoiler free review: The Star Touched Queen

copy-of-synopsispng

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself

My rating 4/5 stars
Add it on goodreads

copy-of-my-thoughtsI don’t have the words to describe the beauty of this book I’m happy and surprised to have already found one of my favorite books of the year. The writing is what makes it amazing the writing is just so good, I annotated this and I liked it even more then I otherwise would have because that caused me to pay more attention.  I haven’t been this satisfied with a book in a while I have a few quibbles but it’s mostly what I was expecting and after turning the last page it left me feeling happy and content. It has just about everything I love in a book there’s magic, a good villain and it has well paced romance. The best thing of all is Maya she’s riddled with insecurities that feel real and makes big mistakes but owns up to them. The heat of the story is her finding herself it’s lovely and my very favorite kind of story.

I have to talk about Kamila I had heard her mentioned in so many reviews that I was surprised when she didn’t came in until the last half of the book. Even though she wasn’t in it long she made in impression I wish there had been more of her I just loved her so much all of her lines are spectacular. I wish I could talk about the other two female characters but it’s hard to without spoiling anything all I’ll say is that they were developed very well and so was  each of their relationships with Maya. The friendships were just as meaningful as the romantic relationship that made me happy as does being able to say that this passes the Betchdel test.

The story was inspired by the Hades and Persephone myth and Indian mythology and yes it’s as awesome as it sounds. The plot reminded me a little of The Wrath and the Dawn they both have vivid settings and complicated romances, the characters get married to mysterious love interests who they don’t entirely trust. Even though this is inspired by and reminded my of multiple things it’s still unique and imaginative I haven’t read anything as magical as it in a while or maybe ever.
The only objective flaw is the ending it felt rushed there was a lot happening and while the whole book is has a lot happening it gave just enough time to every scene until the ending that is. It’s not that big of a problem though it is still ultimately a good, satisfying conclusion that left just enough open to be explored in the next book. Even though I enjoyed everything about this book didn’t love everything and the romance didn’t give me all the feels like I wanted it to, a big reason why is I didn’t love the love interest I liked Amar and think he’s a good character but he’s not anything special. Despite all that I still think this book is practically perfect in every way and I have to mention the writing again I know that flowery writing isn’t for everyone but is’s the reason I love this so much.
lets-chat3Have you read this, what did you think about it? Are you also exited for A Crown of Wishes?
3 thoughts on “Spoiler free review: The Star Touched Queen

Leave a Reply

