Review: Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta

I received this book from the publisher through Netgally in exchange for an honest review, this in no way effects my opinion.dividersynopsis2All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin.

Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife

  • Add it on goodreads
  • My rating 4/5 stars
  • Release date: March 14th

my-thoughts2I clicked on this for the title which is one of my favorite Taylor Swift songs the song actually fits the storyline about the twins who have a rough relationship. Part of the book is set in the 1600s the way the past and present are woven together is very cool. I liked this part of the book but I didn’t think the twins reasons for fighting were strong and it felt as if I missed something but I didn’t it jut wasn’t set up well. The sisters story was good but I wish it had been developed more.

This is book is about witches, this is not a spoiler it’s set up in the first few chapters, I wanted more witchcraft it was mostly in the last quarter. I think my main problem with this book is that is was missing something there needed to be more happening. The first half was all set up this is normal except this book is only 272 pages when a book is that short it needs a faster pace or in the case of this one it needs to be longer.

The charterers are all okay there’s not much time for character development and in a standalone I don’t need the charterers to be amazing the only character I had a problem with was Heather’s aunt whose name I can’t even remember she was more of a plot device then a character.  What bothered me is that it seemed unrealistic for her to give Heather so much freedom when she had just gotten out of a wellness center for cutting herself.

There really isn’t much more to say this book was good none of the problems really bothered me until I finished reading it, I always like finding a nice standalone and the writing was great it flowed well and swapped between time periods flawlessly. But it needed to be longer, the ending was rushed and I wanted more chapters in the 1600s and more magic. Basically this a quick intriguing paranormal standalone that is worth reading, but that could have been so much better if the author had spent more time developing the story.divider3

One thought on “Review: Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta

Leave a Reply

