Review: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl: Squirrel Meets world

birddivider2synopsisWHO RUNS THE WORLD? SQUIRRELS! Fourteen-year-old Doreen Green moved from sunny California to the suburbs of New Jersey. She must start at a new school, make new friends, and continue to hide her tail. Yep, Doreen has the powers of . . . a squirrel! After failing at several attempts to find her new BFF, Doreen feels lonely and trapped, liked a caged animal. Then one day Doreen uses her extraordinary powers to stop a group of troublemakers from causing mischief in the neighborhood, and her whole life changes. Everyone at school is talking about it! Doreen contemplates becoming a full-fledged Super Hero. And thus, Squirrel Girl is born! She saves cats from trees, keeps the sidewalks clean, and dissuades vandalism. All is well until a real-life Super Villain steps out of the shadows and declares Squirrel Girl his archenemy. Can Doreen balance being a teenager and a Super Hero? Or will she go . . . NUTS?

my-thoughtsIt’s gonna be nearly impossible to write a coherent review for this extremely fun book and my few emoji filled notes are no help. Before I get into the review you should know that when it comes to Squirrel Girl I can’t be that objective no matter how silly it gets because I’m just to busy enjoying it. It’s nice to just read without my brain writing a review and critiquing everything. It’s rare that a book is good enough for me to get so attached to it that I can overlook any flaws, even after finishing it. I finished this book days ago and have yet to think of any flaws I remember a few silly lines but really the only problem with them is they were juvenile and you can’t fault a middle grade for being juvenile.

I have been very stressed lately and needed a fun positive read and Squirrel Girl is like the definition of fun there is no supper series story lines (in the book or comics) you can just enjoy her beating up villains or often talking them out of committing crimes. Somehow the authors managed to perfectly capture the feel of the comics and even had the footnotes, this is a perfect introduction to Squirrel Girl and I’m sure that it will introduce a lot of people to her. One of the best things about the book is all the great squirrel names there are two pages that are entirely squirrel names my personal favorite is Alexander Hamsandwich. The best thing, at least my favorite thing about this wonderful book is that Rocket Raccoon has a cameo and him and Doreen bond over their tails. I love Rocket Raccoon so much! And two of the best and furriest characters becoming friends was almost to much happiness to handle, there’s a few other fantastic cameos as well I’ll keep those a surprise.

This book is amazing, Squirrel Girl is amazing she is so positive and it’s nice to read about someone who is such a good person the other characters are great as well, there is Tippy-Toe a very cute and smart squirrel plus a ton of other adorable squirrels and Doreen’s supportive parents. And then there is Doreen’s best friend Ana Sofia who is smart and who is deaf. I felt like is was important to mention this aspect of diversity however I can’t say if the representation is good, all I know is that I liked the character and she was a big part of the story.  I would recommend this to everyone no matter their age or gender because for one thing saying a book is only for a certain gender is stupid and also because  this is a book that almost everyone will enjoy, it’s adorable, funny, nutty and so fun.birddivider2

 

3 thoughts on “Review: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl: Squirrel Meets world

Leave a Reply

