Book review: Geekerella

I received this book from the publisher through Netgally in exchange for an honest review, this in no way effects my opinion.

dividersynopsis2Geek girl Elle Wittimer lives and breathes Starfield, the classic sci-fi series she grew up watching with her late father. So when she sees a cosplay contest for a new Starfield movie, she has to enter. The prize? An invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball, and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. With savings from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck (and her dad’s old costume), Elle’s determined to win…unless her stepsisters get there first.

Teen actor Darien Freeman used to live for cons—before he was famous. Now they’re nothing but autographs and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but Starfield fandom has written him off as just another dumb heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise. But when she disappears at midnight, will he ever be able to find her again?

Part romance, part love letter to nerd culture, and all totally adorbs, Geekerella is a fairy tale for anyone who believes in the magic of fandom.

my-thoughts2

This book is delightful, these light reads I’ve been reading recently have not disappointed and I keep waiting to read more and more of them. This one gave me all the warm and fuzzy feels. This is very much a love letter to Geek culture the acknowledgments literally are, I don’t usually mention the acknowledgment (but I always read them) is this case however I really liked them. The below quote is from them I completely agree with it, it’s great and it wonderfully captures the spirit of the book.

“Never give up on your dreams, and never let anyone tell you that what you love is inconsequential or useless or a waste of time. Because if you love it? If that OTP or children’s card game or abridged series or YA book or animated series makes you happy? That is never a waste of time.”

This perfectly captures nerd culture and was a pleasure to read, there’s so, so many references, including ones to Firefly, Star Trek, and The Princess Bride. Starfield is the fictional fandom the story centers around and the author did such a great job creating it. I became extremely invested in how the movie was going to turn out, I fell in love with a TV show that doesn’t even exist that says a lot about how good the writing is.

As a retelling it manages to stand out from the dozen of other Cinderella retellings, it stayed true to the original tale but I didn’t find Elle to not be that Cinderella like. Elle was a good character but she was inconsistent towards the end and not the best Cinderella. I liked the other protagonist, Darein but Elle’s friend Sage was my favorite character. All the relationships are well developed, the romance is cute and the characters are all likable except the evil stepmother of course. The nerdy aspects are amazing and that’s pretty much the whole plot, the book felt like a teen movie, like a really good classic Disney channel movie. I would love to see a movie adaptation and a actual Starfield TV show.

“Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite.”

divider3

15 thoughts on “Book review: Geekerella

  1. I read the book and I must say I NEED STARFIELD! It sounds so cool and I just want to be able to watch it, so I’m a little jealous of Elle, I need it! The book was really good, I loved all the references and it had the perfect level of cheesy-ness. Very adorkable 🙂
    It did remind me a lot of this old disney movie called Star Struck (or something alike), which is also about this famous star who then meets a girl who is absolutely not a fan (her sisters are) and in the end they fall in love..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really want to read this book now, what a lovely review! 🙂 I’m so glad to hear this captures nerd culture greatly, we often miss that, and also, yes to all the cute and fuzzy feels, I LOVE THIS ❤

    Like

  3. Lovely review, Emma! 😀
    I loved every single fandom thing here too, and I laughed a lot with this book as well. I loved that scene when Elle is deeply upset about the casting. That sounds a lot like something I’d do. And a lot of other fans haha
    Sage was my favorite character too 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

