My love hate relationship with book adaptations 

When it’s announced that a book is getting adapted into a movie or show I’m always initially excited even if I haven’t read the book, but if I love the book then after a while I usually start to have conflicting opinions. I try to be cautiously optimistic it could be amazing and I do tend to want to see my favorite books on the big screen but it could also be awful.I used to always be exited about book adaptations but then the Divergent movie happened, I was so excited for the Divergent movie and it turned out terrible and now I’m scared that another beloved book will get a bad  movie. Bad adaptations don’t ruin the book, but they do sort of taint they can change your feelings about the books and it’s just not fun to watch something you love get turned into a bad movie. Getting to see your favorite book adapted could be one of the best things ever or the worst it could mean getting to see everything exactly as you pictured it and getting to revisit the story in a new way. It’s as close as you’ll get to reading the book for the first time.

What I love about good adaptations is how they often expand upon stories and add more to the world I think most of the best adaptations aren’t exactly like the book certain things don’t translate well on screen so sometimes the story needs to be altered for the movie be good. I think most people love it when a book they like gets adapted it can turn out so well but I’m not sure the risk of it being bad is worth it. I also think that they don’t always choose the right books to adapt The Selection would make a great movie yet it’s been optioned for like a year and it looks like it isn’t happening and I’m a little sad that I will most likely not be getting a Selection movie. I think it could be a really good movie. I really hope more fluffy and fun YA books start getting adapted I don’t care about dystopian books anymore and I know I lot of people feel the same way but yet there is at least two dystopian books currently being adapted. I want to see books like Anna and the French Kiss and Geekerella on the big screen.

As you can probably tell I have a love hate relationship with book adaptations they could be an experience or an awful one it’s hard to know even trailers don’t help since they can be misleading. It’s really a case by case basis it depends on what the book is, the cast and crew, how much involvement the author had and tons of other things, my excitement for it mainly depends on how important the book is to me. This is where I have conflicting feelings I want my favorite books to be adapted but only if it’s going to be close to perfect, I just don’t want to watch my favorite thing get turned into something bad. I haven’t been exited for a book adaptation in a while mainly because I haven’t read any of the books currently being adapted I should probably change that. Part of me wants Six of Crows to become a show it could be such a good show hopefully it becomes one and has the right people working on it, people who have at least read the books why do some directors of book adaptations not read the books it makes no since to be. Yes I am talking about the directer of the Percy Jackson movie that movie was awful like it’s one of the worst adaptations ever.

2 thoughts on “My love hate relationship with book adaptations 

Leave a Reply

