Book review: Hunted by Meagan Spooner

synopsis3Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. Though she grew up with the city’s highest aristocrats, far from her father’s old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who’s ever come close to discovering them.

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there’s no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas…or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva’s father’s misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he’d been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance.

Deaf to her sisters’ protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory—a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva’s only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

 

my-thoughts3

I had high hopes for this book but I had no idea that I would completely adore it and that it would end up being so special it’s definietly favorite Beauty and the Beast retelling, maybe even my favorite retelling. I love retellings and I always have high standards for them this one exceeded my expectations it blew me away. It kept the heart of the original tale while adding a unique spin, it has that perfect balance between classic and new that ever fairytale retelling should strive for. Beauty and the Beast retellings can easily get strange or even problematic but this one was pulled of masterfully and the romance was especially handled well and developed so well. Both Beauty and the Beast felt familiar and similar to other versions of the characters but they were each distinct and good characters with something new to offer.
I very much like this version of Beauty she’s called Yeva in this and she is clever and loves fairytales this is a great help to her, having a vast knowledge of fairytales is a valuable thing when your in one. Yeva is not quite nice as Beauty usually is she feels restricted by society she loves hunting but it’s not proper for a lady to hunt, she’s someone who longs for more. I understood her so well I could relate to feeling unsatisfied with your life even though you don’t have much reason to be, this book made me feel so unexpectedly understood. I’m not sure I’ve ever resonated with a charecter as much as I do Yeva, our personalities are different but I could relate to her loyalty towards her family, I can relate to not knowing what it is your searching for and merely knowing you want somthing more. You don’t get to know the Beast or any of the other characters nearly as well as you do Yeva but each character is in it just enough and I adored her sisters.

The writing is absoultly lovely it seemed like there was magic woven between the words, sometimes you read a book at the perfect time and it ends up being so specel that you struggle to find the words to deescribe how and why its so meaningful to you. I know this review isn’t objective in the slightest, but I actually can’t think of a single flaw everything was so carefully thought through, its magical, the charecters are fantastic and pacing was perfect the story moved fast but not too fast each storyline got just enough attention. Everything about this book is so good especially the ending I did predict the twist but that didn’t make me love it any less and it didn’t seem like it was meant to be that surprising. What a perfect book, with perfectly imperfect characters. This is a amazing fairytale retelling and a fairytale in its own right, it’s timeless, and utterly enchanting, read it.

One thought on “Book review: Hunted by Meagan Spooner

Leave a Reply

