Mini review: The Rose and the Dagger

This review is spoiler free but the synopsis does have mild spoilers for the first book, if you would like to read my review of The Wrath and the Dawn, the first book in this series, you can find it here.

synopsis3In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad is forced from the arms of her beloved husband, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once thought Khalid a monster—a merciless killer of wives, responsible for immeasurable heartache and pain—but as she unraveled his secrets, she found instead an extraordinary man and a love she could not deny. Still, a curse threatens to keep Shazi and Khalid apart forever.

Now she’s reunited with her family, who have found refuge in the desert, where a deadly force is gathering against Khalid—a force set on destroying his empire and commanded by Shazi’s spurned childhood sweetheart. Trapped between loyalties to those she loves, the only thing Shazi can do is act. Using the burgeoning magic within her as a guide, she strikes out on her own to end both this terrible curse and the brewing war once and for all. 

my-thoughts3The Wrath and the Dawn was one of my favorite books of last year I’m glad I finally got a chance to read the sequel, it’s more or less what I was expecting and while it could have been better I  still really enjoyed it. It gave me all the things I had wanted more of in the first one, the magic got expanded upon, there’s more action and adventure, it’s more exciting and you meet two new chatterers one of them is Shazi’s sister Irsa whom I adore. Irsa was a wonderful character I liked that she started out as timed but realized she was stronger then she knew and I liked the cute romance between her and Rahim. I loved the new characters and that the magic was so excellently expanded upon but one of my favorite characters from the first book, Despina is hardly in this I missed her and the friendship I loved so much between her and Shahrzad.

I think all the characters are great but not all of their stories were handled in the best way and I wanted more of some of them, I know this is Shazi and Khalid’s story but it would have given the books more depth to expand upon the other charterers. Tariq especially needed more development I liked his role in the first book, even though he annoyed me, but his storyline in this one wasn’t the best. I felt like he was regressing at some points and then his development was rather sudden, his arc could have been so much better. This book was not as good as the first one it has new and good things but it’s not as romantic, the banter isn’t as good and I really missed Despina,  however, it is still a great end to an excellent duology and I cant wait to read Renee Ahdieh’s other book, and anything she publishes in the future.

Leave a Reply

