Revisiting my 2017 reading goals + the best books of 2017 so far

At the end of last year I posted a short list of reading goals now that the year is half way over, actually over half way over, I meant to write this last month. Anyway I thought it would be fun to see how well I’m keeping up my goals as well as talk about some of my favorite books I’ve read so far this year.

reading goals

  1. Read 35 books: I’ve already read 30 books so I’m doing great on this goal I am currently in a bit of a reading slump but I think I’m going to still end up reading 45-50 books this year.
  2. Read more diverse books: Specifically read one book a month that deals with mental health, I did very good on this goal so far I’ve read six mental health books. It wasn’t one book every month but as long as I end up reading around ten books with a main focus on mental health then I will be satisfied. And I have read books that are diverse in other ways.
  3. Add some variety: I haven’t been doing as well with this one as i would like to be I have a read a few lesser known books but for the most part they’ve been popular. I also haven’t been posting as wide of a range of content as I planned to at the beginning of the year.
  4. Try Historical Fiction: I have read a grand total of two historical fiction books so this differently isn’t going well, however there is still time to do better on this goal. The book I plan next to read is a historical fiction so I’m definitely planning on reading a few more books in the genre before the years over.
  5. Get into comics: I have succeeded in this I’ve read most of the comics I own and I’ve enjoyed all of them. My favorite comics I’ve read is definitely Squirrel Girl I highly recommend them there quirky, funny and a complete delight.

reading goals (1)

  1. Hunted (review)
  2. The Girl with the Ghost Machine (review)
  3. Queens of Geek (recommendation post)
  4. The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl vol 1
  5. Geekerella (review)

Hunted is my favorite out of these but the rest are in no particular order.

I didn’t expect any of these books to make this list a lot of the books I’ve read so far have been surprising. There had been a few books I though I was sure I would  like more then I did and books I didn’t know I would end up loving it as much as I do. There’s been a lot of disappointments but also a lot of pleasant surprises all around it’s been a good reading year.

Untitled design (4)

How many books have you read so far? What are some of your favorite books you’ve read this year?

3 thoughts on “Revisiting my 2017 reading goals + the best books of 2017 so far

    1. My favorite historical fiction is The Help I read it a while ago. The two I read this year are The Falconer which I didn’t like, and Duels and Deception which I adored. I admit I haven’t been making much of an effort but I would recommendations.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

